If you suffer an injury on the job while in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, a workers’ compensation claim could help you obtain the financial recovery you need during this difficult time.
Workplace accidents and injuries are unfortunately somewhat common in the health care industry. Knowing how to successfully navigate the state’s workers’ comp laws can give you the tools you need to move forward.
- 21-day notification requirement
The Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act gives most employees the ability to seek compensation for their damages without having to prove fault. To qualify for these financial benefits, however, you must notify your employer of a job-related injury within 21 days of the accident. The law bars you from any recovery if you do not report your injuries within 120 days of the accident.
- Specific health care requirements
Your employer may have the right to request you see a specific doctor for treatment of your job-related injuries or illness. An employer has the right to list six or more designated doctors for covered employees. At least three must be physicians, while a maximum of four may be coordinated care organizations.
- Covered injuries and illnesses
Most illnesses and injuries you suffer on the job in the healthcare industry fall under the protections of the workers’ compensation system in Pennsylvania. This includes repetitive motion injuries, trip-and-fall injuries, needle-prick illnesses and infections. It is worthwhile to research your possible rights to compensation after any type of accident on the job.
- The right to a civil lawsuit
As an injured health care worker in Williamsport, you may have the right to seek additional compensation through the civil tort system. Filing a civil lawsuit against your employer, a product manufacturer or another party could result in greater recovery for your damages than a workers’ comp claim. Keep in mind you cannot file a lawsuit against your employer if you have already accepted a workers’ comp settlement.